School Logo

Brookfield Community Primary School

Many hearts make a school

Get in touch

Useful Links

Protected Characteristics

Protected Characteristics




The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation because of the protected characteristics that we all have.


Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:


  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race -  including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

No form of discrimination is tolerated at Brookfield Community Primary School and our pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics. 


Protected characteristics - YouTube


We do not teach about all the protected characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at school. 


The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted in school through:

•Our school ethos 

•Our school learning powers
•Our school behaviour policy
•Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community
•Active engagement and communication with parents and carers
•Discussion within curriculum subjects, taking across-curricular approach
•Promoting articulation by building appropriate language and a coherent vocabulary
•Personal, Social, Health and Economic education (PSHE) sessions

•Religious Education (RE) lessons,

Relationships and Sex Education (SRE) lessons,

•Pupil Voice
•Educational visits
•School Council and other pupil leadership opportunities
•Extra-curricular activities, after-school clubs, charity work and work within the local community