Home Page



Brookfield’s approach to reading.


At Brookfield, reading is taught and developed through:


  • Shared reading
  • Guided reading
  • Group reading
  • Individual reading
  • Quiet reading
  • Reading Ambassadors
  • Story time
  • Read at Home/Take Home books
  • Phonics. Children in Reception start to learn how to read by using phonics.                                      

Children in Reception are taught phonics as a whole class. The children in KS1 and early KS2 are also taught phonics in small groups according to their ability and learning needs. We currently have 5 groups, allowing children to be taught sounds specific to their learning needs. We use a range of resources to teach phonics which allow children to progress through the 6 phonics phases. Children’s progress is checked regularly and children move through the phases according to their progress.


Most of the English language can be read with phonics, but children also need to recognise and remember those 'tricky words' that cannot be sounded out letter by letter e.g. the or said. We use special phonic 'decodable' books that help children to practise their early reading and we encourage children to draw on their own experiences, the setting of the story and the pictures to help them understand what they are reading about.


Comprehension skills are vital in making sense of what the words say and interpreting meaning. At Brookfield, we use a structured and levelled set of books, these books are very phonic-based at the beginning.


We also have a range of books, such as short stories and traditional tales which enrich the children’s reading and are at the right level to help children gradually develop in skills and confidence. Children move steadily from early reading skills to more complex reading skills and do that at their own pace to ensure confidence and enthusiasm. Developing their comprehension ability becomes increasingly important as phonics knowledge is completed.

Even in Key Stage Two, there are levelled reading books that are aimed at moving older readers on and giving them controlled practice in reading. Children progress through the reading books as their reading ability improves and they become more confident readers, usually moving from the scheme to reading books of their own choice in Key Stage Two.



Children at Brookfield have access to a wide range of reading materials. We have the use of the Lancashire School's Library Service, which provides all children with materials to both support learning and to foster a love of reading.


Every class has a reading corner. These reading corners are designed to promote an enjoyment for reading. Books will change regularly to reflect the topics being covered in class, as well as reflecting the age, abilities and interests of the class.


Home Reading


Children have a wide range of fiction and non-fiction books to help support and develop a love of reading. Books are carefully chosen based on the child's reading ability and as much as possible, their reading interest.


Brookfield uses the Oxford Reading Tree as our reading scheme.

For more information about Oxford Reading Tree and ideas of how you can support your child in reading at home click below.


Oxford Reading Tree: Parents


The Oxford Reading Tree scheme is linked to our new assessment relating to Age Related Expectations. The 'Colour Bands' also correspond to the different phases of Letters and Sound.

See the table below for an overview.

Reading Scheme Overview